May Favourites.

There are quite a few new things I have been testing out this month and I finally feel like I have a pretty good everyday makeup routine so most of the new products I have introduced into my makeup collection will be appearing in this post. Let’s get to it…

IMG_0839First up is the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Edit (Surreal Light) – the latest palette from the company. I have never tried anything from Hourglass before as their products are expensive but when I began to update my make up bag, I decided this might be worth the splurge after reading lots of rave reviews. And it has not disappointed me at all! I love that I have my face powder, blusher (x2!), bronzer and highlight all in one place and when I break the price down it works out at £14 per product which I think is reasonable for such good quality. My face looks glowy and luminous and being from the same brand, each powder blends beautifully into the next.

IMG_0837

 

IMG_0845Next is Bourjois’s Healthy Mix Foundation. Not a new foundation on the market, but a new discovery for me. I hadn’t been bothered to try it until recently and I wish it hadn’t  taken me so long! I love it’s medium coverage and serum-like texture. It’s mix of vitamins help achieve a glowy finish and it lasts well throughout the day.

IMG_0844I’ve been using the NYX Micro Brow Pencil throughout this month and after a shaky start, I’ve really begun to enjoy using it. Lot’s of bloggers compare it to the Anastasia brow pencil and I bought it on that promise of an excellent product. In the past, I have always used a powder to fill my brows so it took me a while to get to grips with using the pencil; but now I have, I can’t see myself going back. I also really like that it has a brush on the end – I’m always a fan of anything that saves space and time!

IMG_0842I couldn’t do this favourites post without mentioning the limited edition MAC lipstick by Fleur de Force. I was lucky enough to get my hands on it before it sold out and I’m so glad I did -it’s the perfect nude for me. I’m gutted they are now out of stock and I’ll be hunting for a dupe soon because I know this shade is going to be a firm favourite for years to come.

IMG_0843

IMG_0840In terms of applying foundation, I’ve discovered an old favourite  – the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush. It just works really well to blend my base and I use it to apply my foundation, concealer and contour. I was using a beauty blender, which I liked, but the brush is quicker, easier and gives me an almost identical finish.
The last make-up related item (I know its’s been make-up heavy, but as I said earlier – I’ve re-vamped my everyday routine!) is Collection 2000’s Contour Stick in light. Again, this was another product which I had to become used to, but once I did, I realised just how great (and affordable!) this little pencil it. I think the formula get’s better after a few uses (I’m not sure if it needs to warm up and melt a bit),  but the shade is really cool toned and gives a nice, subtle contour.

IMG_0841

There aren’t any other beauty related items I want to talk about this month; my skincare routine is working at the moment but I want to do a separate post to show the products I’m using, so I’ll save that for another day. In terms of music, I have been listening to Harry Style’s new album non-stop and also the new release from Zac Brown Band. I haven’t had time to read any books (having a new puppy keeps me busy!) but I have been reading a novel with my class in school called The Nowhere Emporium (by Ross MacKenzie), if you have children aged 9 +, I’d really recommend it!

That’s all for my May favourites! Hopefully, my recommendations have been good ones and if you have written a similar post, please link it below so I can have a read and add to my own wishlist!

Until next time,

Laura x

Leave a Reply

